100 km Easter ride

Nudgee Beach
Nudgee Beach

Easter 2013.  Good Friday to be precise.  It has taken me several years to work up to it, but I finally did my first 100km bike ride.  Of course, for many other cyclists, 100km is no big deal.  But it’s my personal distance record so far, so I’m pretty pleased about that.  I was riding for a bit over 5 hours, and I stopped for a lunch break at the half way point, so I wasn’t setting any speed records.  Not that I was trying to.  My route took me from Teralba Park at Mitchelton, along the Kedron Brook Bikeway, to Nudgee beach.  Then through the Boondall Wetlands, to Deagon, Shorncliffe, Sandgate, and over the Ted Smout Bridge to Woody Point.  That’s 50km.  A bite to eat and then back again.  I have to admit, the last 10km or so were quite ouchy hurty, but I pulled up fine the next day.

Esplanade, Sandgate
Esplanade, Sandgate

And even though we’ve had a lot of rain here in Brissy during the past couple of months, I was lucky enough to get a fine sunny day.  It’s always nice to ride alongside the water on a clear day.  I hope the photos give an idea of just how lovely the water was looking that day.

2 thoughts on “100 km Easter ride

Leave a Reply

