First bike tour, Brisbane to Tin Can Bay, part three

Tranquil morning at Tin Can Bay
Tranquil morning at Tin Can Bay

Day five – 26 September, Tin Can Bay to Lake Cootharaba  (70km)
Having found Cooloola Way a bit too challenging, I was keen to take an alternative route back to Lake Cootharaba.  Some helpful locals suggested I take the (only) road out of TCB and then look for Counter Rd, a long straight dirt road running south which meets up with the Kin-Kin Pomona road.
From TCB to the Rainbow Beach turnoff, the road has a reasonably wide shoulder, making it safe enough to cycle on.  However, past that point there is no shoulder at all and the road is quite narrow.  Safe cycling on the road was out of the question, as the trucks take all the available room and don’t seem very patient with other road users.  Fortunately there is a forestry track running parallel with the road so I opted for that as a safer – but slower and bumpier – option.

Toolara forest
Toolara forest

After a few kms I turned off into the forestry, taking the Toolara-Como road hoping to find my way to Counter Rd.  I got a little lost, but realised I was heading in the right direction when I came to the crossing at Coondoo Creek.  This was a nice shady spot to take a break.

Coondoo Creek
Coondoo Creek

Soon after, I found Counter Rd and headed south.  There was still a long way to go, but I knew that navigation wouldn’t be a problem from here on.  Counter Rd is a long, long road with a few steep hills.  But nowhere near as tough as Cooloola Way.

Counter Rd, looking north
Counter Rd, looking north
Counter Rd, looking south
Counter Rd, looking south
Turn off to Harry's Hut Rd
Turn off to Harry’s Hut Rd

Eventually I reached the bitumen at Kin-Kin Pomona road, then turned off towards Harry’s Hut Rd.  From here I could retrace my original route along the Boronia Trail, crossing Kin Kin Creek and through Elanda Point to Lake Cootharaba.

Elanda Point kangaroos
Elanda Point kangaroos

Riding back through the lush grassland near Elanda Point, I came across the now familiar sight of kangaroos grazing in the cool of the afternoon.

Day six – 27 September, Lake Cootharaba to Coolum  (56km)
Slept like the dead after yesterday’s long ride.

Garden visitor
Garden visitor

My host at Cootharaba lives alongside a large area of forest, and the wildlife often walks, flies, slithers or hops in to visit.  This morning a very large kangaroo bounded into the vegie garden to inspect what was on offer.

After breakfast I headed for Tewantin, and got the only puncture of the entire trip on a smooth stretch of bitumen.  All that distance on tough, stony dirt roads and rocky forestry tracks and my only flat tire was on a “proper” road!  No problem though – I was carrying spare tubes and was on my way again soon.

View from Coolum boardwalk
View from Coolum boardwalk

Another perfect Spring day, with lots of great ocean views along the cycleway.

Little Pied Cormorant (Microcarbo melanoleucos)
Little Pied Cormorant (Microcarbo melanoleucos)

Arriving at Coolum, I stopped for a break at one of my favourite ocean viewing spots.  Soon after, a Little Pied Cormorant flew into a tree beside me and proceeded to dry and preen its wings.  This is a different species to the Little Black Cormorants I saw at Tin Can Bay.

Day seven – 28 September, Coolum to home (69km)
The last day of my first bike tour and it was a glorious sunny morning in Coolum.  A quick dash to the seaside in case there were any whales to be seen (nope, still none) then onto Mudjimba for a big breakfast.

This final leg of the trip was roughly in two halves – bikeway from Coolum to south of Caloundra, then the forest road to Beerwah station.  The construction in the photo above is at Alexandra Headland, it’s the HMAS Brisbane Mast Memorial.  In 2005 the ex-HMAS Brisbane was scuttled off the coast here to create an artificial reef and is now a diving site.

Beerwah State Forest
Beerwah State Forest

Back in the Beerwah State Forest again, on the home stretch to Beerwah Station and then on the train to Brisbane.  The Glasshouse Mountains can be seen in the distance.

Home again
Home again

And after a grand total of 405km and a week on the bike, finally home again.  This had been a wonderful experience, with plenty of challenges as well as relaxation and tranquillity.  Travelling in this way gives you a great sense of freedom and independence.  And to have gone all that way without burning up fossil fuel in a car is doubly rewarding.  I hope this will be just the first of many bike tours in the days ahead.  Thanks for reading my blog everyone!

2 thoughts on “First bike tour, Brisbane to Tin Can Bay, part three

    1. You’re welcome. Not quite in the same league as your incredible Korean trip, but a nice journey all the same. As it happens, it was the cycle touring blogs on WordPress, including yours, that gave me the inspiration to get out there and do some bike touring in the first place – so my thanks to you.

Leave a Reply

